E-Rickshaw Price in India 2026: 20+ Models, Battery Cost, Subsidy Details

Stay connected via Google 'Electric Vehicle' News

Follow BijliWaliGaadi | India's Trusted EV Insights Portal

Add as a preferred
source on Google
Blue commercial electric rickshaw auto displayed on a white studio background with text reading E-Rickshaw Price Guide 2026.
Complete guide to e-rickshaw and L5 electric auto prices in India for 2026, covering top models, PM E-DRIVE subsidies, battery specs, and city EV policies.

India’s three-wheeler market is splitting in two. At the bottom, low-speed e-rickshaws capped near 25 km/h remain the cheapest entry into commercial mobility. Above them, a newer tier of L5 electric autos from Bajaj, Mahindra, TVS, Euler and Montra competes on certified range, battery warranty and speed, at prices that reach about ₹4.5 lakh. Policy is reinforcing the split. Central PM E-DRIVE support for L5 vehicles closed on 26 December 2025, and Delhi’s 2026 EV policy will allow only electric L5 three-wheelers to be newly registered from 1 January 2027.

For a driver or fleet owner, sticker price tells only part of the story. A vehicle chosen on price alone can be slow to charge, hard to service or ineligible for an incentive. This guide separates conventional e-rickshaws from L5 electric autos, prices each model on a stated basis, and works through battery, charging, subsidy and running-cost arithmetic.

What Is the Price of an E-Rickshaw in India in 2026?

Listed e-rickshaw prices in India run from about ₹0.65 lakh to ₹4.5 lakh ex-showroom in 2026. Conventional passenger models checked on manufacturer pages cost ₹1.85–₹2.04 lakh, while L5 electric autos cost roughly ₹3.10–₹4.50 lakh, depending on battery, variant and city.

Prices vary with vehicle classification (L3 low-speed or L5 high-speed), battery chemistry (lead-acid or lithium-ion), passenger capacity and state incentives. The table sets out each category and the basis of its price.

Vehicle categorySpeed and battery specificationTypical price range (ex-showroom)Pricing and data basis
Conventional passenger e-rickshaw (L3 low-speed)Up to 25 km/h; lead-acid or 4–5.4 kWh lithium-ion₹1.85–₹2.04 lakhVerified on manufacturer pages for Bajaj Riki P4005 and Mahindra Treo Yaari. Unverified market references: ₹0.65–₹2.2 lakh from dealer listings
L5 passenger electric auto (high-speed commercial)45–60 km/h top speed; 9–18 kWh LFP or lithium-ion₹3.10–₹4.50 lakhDelhi ex-showroom launch and listed prices (for example Bajaj WEGO, Mahindra UDO)
Electric cargo three-wheeler or e-cartHeavy-duty cargo hauling; 9–12.1 kWh battery₹3.87 lakh onwardsEx-showroom Delhi launch figure for Bajaj WEGO C9009 at ₹3,87,371

Note for buyers: these are benchmark reference prices. The final on-road price depends on battery pack size, dealer location, RTO registration charges, state EV policy benefits and insurance.

What Is the Difference Between L3 E-Rickshaws, L5 Electric Autos and Cargo E-Carts?

L3 e-rickshaws are low-speed, low-power passenger vehicles capped near 25 km/h under Section 2A of the Motor Vehicles Act, while L5 electric autos are faster, more powerful commercial three-wheelers. PM E-DRIVE and Delhi’s policy treat them separately, so classification affects licence, permit and incentive eligibility.

“E-rickshaw” is used loosely in the market, but the vehicles differ in law, performance and subsidy treatment.

  • Conventional e-rickshaw (low-speed passenger vehicle): Section 2A of the Motor Vehicles Act defines e-rickshaws and e-carts as special-purpose battery-powered three-wheelers with power not exceeding 4,000 watts. When the central rules were notified, reports said they limited these vehicles to four passengers excluding the driver and a top speed of 25 km/h. Official pages for the models below show 24.5–25 km/h. Confirm the current rule text with your RTO.
  • L5 electric auto: a faster, higher-powered passenger three-wheeler. Bajaj WEGO is rated at 4.6–6.2 kW continuous and the Mahindra UDO at 10 kW peak. Delhi’s policy calls its e-autos L5M, and PM E-DRIVE lists L5 separately from e-rickshaws.
  • Cargo e-rickshaw or e-cart: built to carry goods. PM E-DRIVE groups e-carts with e-rickshaws.

Classification decides the driving licence and permit rules, the speed limit, passenger capacity, insurance category and which incentive can apply. Check the category printed on the RC and type-approval papers before you pay, and do not compare an L5 auto with a low-speed e-rickshaw on price alone.

How Much Does a Conventional Passenger E-Rickshaw Cost in India?

Conventional passenger e-rickshaws checked on manufacturer pages cost ₹1.85–₹2.04 lakh ex-showroom: the Bajaj Riki P4005 is listed at ₹1,85,000–₹1,90,890 and the Mahindra Treo Yaari at ₹1.96–₹2.04 lakh. Dealer listings run from about ₹0.63 lakh, but those figures are unverified.

Which Conventional E-Rickshaw Prices Are Confirmed on Manufacturer Pages?

Two well known conventional models could be checked against manufacturer pages: the Bajaj Riki P4005 at ₹1,85,000–₹1,90,890 (ex-showroom New Delhi) and the Mahindra Treo Yaari Passenger at ₹1.96–₹2.04 lakh. Both are low-speed passenger vehicles with top speeds of 24.5–25 km/h.

ModelPrice (basis)Battery and key specification
Bajaj Riki P4005₹1,85,000 in the page body; ₹1,90,890 in page metadata (ex-showroom New Delhi)5.4 kWh (chemistry not stated), 149 km certified, 25 km/h, 5 seats including driver, 3 years/60,000 km warranty
Mahindra Treo Yaari Passenger₹1.96–₹2.04 lakh (manufacturer page, undated)Lithium-ion 48 V, about 85 km typical real-world range, 24.5 km/h, D+4, 3 years or 40,000 km warranty

What Are the Indicative Reference Prices for Other E-Rickshaw Models in India?

ModelIndicative reference price (Not exact)
YC Electric Yatri Super₹1.73 lakh onwards
Kinetic Safar Smart₹1.53–₹2.18 lakh
Atul Elite Plus₹1.12–₹1.15 lakh
Saarthi DLX₹1.00 lakh onwards
Bahubali E-Rickshaw₹1.10–₹1.40 lakh
JSA E-Rickshaw₹1.15 lakh onwards
Thukral Electric ER 1₹1.15–₹1.40 lakh
City Life Standard₹1.30 lakh onwards
Mayuri Deluxe₹1.30–₹1.50 lakh
Jezza Super J1000₹1.39 lakh onwards
Mini Metro E-Rickshaw₹1.55 lakh onwards
Lohia Comfort₹1.55–₹1.75 lakh
E-Ashwa E-Rickshaw₹1.60 lakh onwards
Evex India Ranger₹0.68–₹0.70 lakh
SN Solar Energy Passenger₹0.65–₹0.70 lakh
Gkon Butterfly₹0.63–₹0.67 lakh

These are historical or indicative reference figures. For models priced below about ₹1 lakh, ask the dealer for the type-approval certificate, battery chemistry and warranty in writing before paying.

How Much Do L5 Electric Autos Cost? Bajaj WEGO, Euler NEO, TVS King EV Max, Montra Super Auto and Mahindra UDO

L5 electric autos in this comparison start at ₹3,11,908 (Bajaj WEGO P5009 at launch) and reach about ₹4.5 lakh (WEGO P9018 at launch ₹4,48,303), with certified ranges from 155 km to 296 km. Prices are ex-showroom Delhi or listed, and Bajaj’s own pages disagree.

This is where OEM competition is sharpest. Bajaj has built the broadest ladder, with seven WEGO variants announced on 14 April 2026 across passenger and cargo use. Euler offers three NEO HiRANGE variants, TVS a single King EV Max, Mahindra the UDO with a six-year warranty claim, and Montra the Super Auto with two battery options. Rivals compete on certified range, battery size and warranty rather than price alone, and these vehicles are sold mostly on certified range rather than typical range.

ModelPrice (basis)BatteryCertified rangeTop speed
Bajaj WEGO P5009₹3,11,908 (launch, ex-showroom Delhi, 14 April 2026)9.2 kWh213 km45 km/h
Bajaj WEGO P5012₹3,69,301 (ex-showroom New Delhi)12.1 kWh272 km50 km/h
Bajaj WEGO P7009 / P7012Launch ₹3,23,001 / ₹3,63,062; the P70 page now shows “starting from” ₹3,74,2999.2 / 12.1 kWh LFP182 / 259 km45 / 50 km/h
Bajaj WEGO P9018₹4,41,247 (product page); launch ₹4,48,30317.7 kWh LFP296 km45 km/h
Euler NEO HiRANGE₹3,09,999 / ₹3,59,999 / ₹4,07,999 (reported at launch by EVreporter); current price unconfirmed9.6 / 11.56 / 13.44 kWh (reported)171 / 204–205 / 261 km54–60 km/h (reported)
TVS King EV MaxLaunched at ₹2.95 lakh in January 2025; a dealer listing shows ₹3.28 lakh (ex-showroom New Delhi)9.2 kWh LFP (TVS page; some reports say 9.7 kWh)179 km60 km/h
Montra Electric Super Auto₹3,79,500 at launch, stated as ex-showroom post-subsidy; listings show ₹3.77–₹3.80 lakh7.66 or 10.24 kWh (reported); listings differ155 or 203 km Not verified
Mahindra UDO₹3,84,299 standard; ₹3,58,999 introductory at the February 2026 launch for a limited period11.7 kWh lithium-ion, IP67265 km ARAI; 200 km claimed real-world55 km/h (Race mode)

What Affects the On-Road Price of an E-Rickshaw?

On-road price equals ex-showroom price plus registration, insurance, taxes and dealer charges, and it differs by state and city. Compare quotations only on the same basis, and remember a low purchase price does not guarantee a low ownership cost.

  • Ex-showroom price: the vehicle price before registration, insurance and local charges.
  • On-road price: ex-showroom plus registration, insurance, taxes and dealer charges.
  • Dealer quotation: the written offer. Insist it lists every charge, and never compare an ex-showroom figure with an on-road one.
  • Down payment and EMI: the cash you pay on day one and the monthly loan instalment. A lower down payment raises total interest.
  • Battery configuration: the same body with a lead-acid or lithium-ion pack can differ sharply in price and ownership cost.
  • State and city: Delhi’s 2026 policy exempts EVs purchased and registered there from road tax and registration fees, but other states differ.
  • Incentive adjustments: apply only if you meet every eligibility condition.

A cheap vehicle with a short battery warranty and few service centres can cost more over three or four years.

  • Life and replacement: there is no universal figure. Life depends on chemistry, operating conditions, charging practice, temperature, depth of discharge and warranty terms. No verified replacement price was found for the models above, so ask for a written quote.
  • Safety: use only the manufacturer’s charger, keep packs dry and ventilated, and stop using a pack that swells, overheats or smells.

Is There a Subsidy on E-Rickshaws in India in 2026?

PM E-DRIVE supports eligible commercially registered e-rickshaws and e-carts until 31 March 2028 while funds last, but L5 support closed on 26 December 2025. Delhi’s 2026 policy offers ₹50,000 in year one for eligible L5M e-autos, with conditions.

Eligibility depends on vehicle category, purchase date, registration and model approval. None of it is guaranteed. The policy direction is a tilt away from the low-speed segment at the central level and toward electric L5 autos in Delhi, which is why the category printed on your RC matters.

What Does PM E-DRIVE Offer E-Rickshaw Buyers in 2026?

The 27 March 2026 notification lists ₹5,000 and ₹2,500 per kWh rates for e-rickshaws and e-carts, capped at ₹25,000 and ₹12,500, with a ₹2.5 lakh ex-factory price limit. L5 autos such as WEGO and UDO should not be assumed to receive central support.

The 27 March 2026 notification extends the e-rickshaw and e-cart component to 31 March 2028 and confirms the L5 component closed on 26 December 2025. The 10 August 2026 amendment did not change the e-rickshaw row.

  • The table lists ₹5,000 per kWh (capped at ₹25,000) and ₹2,500 per kWh (capped at ₹12,500), a ₹2.5 lakh ex-factory price limit, and a cap of 15% of ex-factory price. It shows only two rates against four financial years, so ask which applies to your registration date.
  • The portal limits e-3W support to commercially registered vehicles with advanced batteries. Its FAQ states one vehicle per category per individual and no incentive for government departments or resold vehicles.
  • The dashboard (27 October 2026) shows e-rickshaw/e-cart activity continuing in FY 2026-27 but does not state remaining funds.
  • L5 autos such as WEGO, NEO, King EV Max, Super Auto and UDO should not be assumed to receive central support.

What Does the Delhi EV Policy 2026 Offer E-Rickshaw and E-Auto Buyers?

Delhi’s EV Policy 2026, in force from 1 July 2026 to 31 March 2030, offers L5M e-autos ₹50,000, ₹40,000 and ₹30,000 in years one to three. It lists no separate purchase incentive for conventional e-rickshaws, and the older ₹30,000 figure no longer applies.

The Delhi EV Policy 2026 took effect on 1 July 2026 and runs to 31 March 2030.

  • L5M e-autos get ₹50,000, ₹40,000 and ₹30,000 in years one, two and three, but only for Delhi residents, vehicles bought and registered in Delhi, batteries of at least 4 kWh, and models approved by the Model Approval Committee.
  • Apply within 30 days of RC generation; payment is due within 60 days of application. The vehicle cannot get an NOC to another state for three years.
  • The policy lists no separate purchase incentive for conventional e-rickshaws, and the ₹30,000 figure from older guides is not in it.
  • ₹25,000 is offered for scrapping a Delhi-registered BS-IV or older L5M, and EVs purchased and registered in Delhi are exempt from road tax and registration fees.
  • From 1 January 2027, only electric L5 three-wheelers can be newly registered in Delhi. Read our Delhi EV Policy 2026 explainer.

Stay connected via Google 'Electric Vehicle' News

Follow BijliWaliGaadi | India's Trusted EV Insights Portal

Add as a preferred
source on Google

Similar Posts

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *